Madara Tupiņa, viola

This concert will be a celebration of the viola, showcasing its versatility and richness. From its role as a virtuosic soloist to its captivating presence within ensembles, the viola takes center stage.

The concert commences with a gracious Prelude from Suite No. 3 by Johann Sebastian Bach, setting a welcoming tone for the evening. Following this, the audience will be treated to the exuberant and dynamic first movement of Franz Anton Hoffmeister's Viola Concerto, which promises to captivate with its joyful energy. Delving into the performers' depth and connection to her Baltic musical heritage, Arvo Pärt’s "Fratres" offers a profound exploration of emotion and tradition. After a brief intermission, the journey continues with Joaquín Turina’s evocative "Scene Andalouse", transporting listeners to the sun-soaked landscapes of southern Spain, filled with warmth and passion. The concert will end with an encore performance of Astor Piazzolla's "Café 1930”.



•Johann Sebastian Bach: Suite No.3 in C major, Prelude

•Franz Anton Hoffmeister: Viola concerto in D major, I movement with cadenza

•Arvo Pärt: Fratres for viola (1977)

•Joaquín Turina: “Scene andalouse” op. 7 for solo viola, piano and string quartet


Ástor Piazzolla: “Histoire du Tango”, II. “Café 1930” for viola and guitar


Viola | Madara Tupiņa

Piano | Georg Öqvist

Violin | Amanda Rūta Vieško

Violin | Isabella Ramos

Viola | Estrid Gustavsson

Cello | Alice Gjellestad

Guitar | Gió Gurrulli

Upcoming events and concerts

All concerts and events Subscribe to concert info