The Jan Wallander Prize

The Jan Wallander Prize is awarded each year to a distinguished student at one of the music colleges in Sweden. The award was established by Handelsbanken in collaboration with KMH. In addition to the honour, the prize-winner will have the opportunity to use an instrument of extremely high class for an extended period of time.

David Stener received the 2023 Jan Wallander Prize

David Stener, photo: Wilhelm Hempel

David Stener was born in 1998 and grew up in Stockholm. Having experimented with drums and guitar at an early age, he chose to focus his attention on the piano at the age of 11. He is currently studying the Bachelor’s Programme in Jazz at the Royal College of Music (KMH) in Stockholm and is set to graduate in the spring.

His thesis takes a deeper look at the harmonic features of Broadway musicals. Through his own compositions, he aims to create music using elements from both jazz and musicals.

David was selected with the jury's motivation:

For his natural and mature playing style, allied with a wonderful feel for harmony and an outstanding improvisational flow, pianist David Stener has been awarded the Jan Wallander Prize for 2023.

Former winners of the Jan Wallander Prize

  • 2022 - Ilias Livieratos
  • 2021 – cancelled due to the pandemic
  • 2020 - Fred Lindberg
  • 2019 – Carl Vallin
  • 2018 – Julia Biegniewska
  • 2017 – Victoria Stjerna
  • 2016 – Charlotta Grahn Wetter
  • 2015 – Josef Karnebäck
  • 2014 – Joel Lyssarides
  • 2013 – Tomas Lundström
  • 2012 – Sofia Hansen
  • 2011 – Oscar Treitler
  • 2010 – Daniel Migdal

More about the prize

Through the Jan Wallander Prize, we hope to give more young people the opportunity to use and use a first-class instrument for a longer period. The award has received its name from Handelsbanken's former CEO and chairman, Jan Wallander. The instruments available to the winners are included in the Handelsbanken Classic Instruments collection.

A musician expresses himself through his instrument. By using a first-class instrument, a musician can reach further in his creative interpration – the instrument responsively responds to the finest impulses and contributes with his sonic beauty to the richness of the expression.